Unarmed combat penalty

Advanced Fighting Fantasy discussion
Post Reply
User avatar
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 3:19 pm
Location: Canada

Unarmed combat penalty

Post by d6&d6 » Sun Jun 02, 2013 1:59 pm

In the rulebook, it is said that a character fighting with a weapon not longer than a dagger gets a -4 to his combat roll against opponents with larger weapons than a dagger.

Does that mean that, for example, a wood golem, with a small bite/claw weapon, will get this same penalty against a battleaxe wielding hero? In other words, is small bite/claw category is like smaller than a dagger?
Tentez votre chance...

Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 4:33 pm
Location: Urbana IL

Re: Unarmed combat penalty

Post by ReaperWolf » Sun Jun 23, 2013 11:34 pm

I would rule monster/beast natural weapons such as claws, bites, antlers, stings, etc. would all be exempt from this rule.

Maybe the wording is wonky and unclear.


Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 9:31 am

Re: Unarmed combat penalty

Post by nicholaslim » Tue Jul 23, 2013 4:25 am

I'm with reaperwolf on this. A combatant is only considered unarmed if using fist/feet/claws/tongue/horns/etc isn't their armed status. I know that there is no monk class/type here but in other RPG genre, a monk will not suffer a unarmed penalty when fighting with his fists.

The brawler special skill will help to address this concern (eg. a +2 score on brawling will help to reduce the penalty when unarmed) if a hero really wants to avoid this penalty when caught with his pants down :D

Post Reply